The sound of a brand or how music affects consumers

The sound of a brand or how music affects consumers

2-03-2020

Music is a strong element of psychological impact on the consumer, and along with visual triggers, it is actively used in trade and business. In this material we will try to tell briefly about why sound design of public places is important and how to make the company "sound" attractive.

"Matter or sound?" — ...what's important to the buyer...

«Звучание» бренда или как музыка влияет на потребителей

In an era of overconsumption, supply is much higher than demand, and simply "matter" (objects, things) are not able to attract an audience sufficiently. The more retail space becomes, the more marketers ask the question: why does a person bypass some places and stay somewhere really long? What factors strongly influence the decision to go back to the store, buy or at least just spin the goods in your hands? Besides price, location, quality of service, layout and a dozen other nuances ... Customers are really affected by colors, sounds, smells and other (not quite tangible) values.

How does a speaker affect sales

«Звучание» бренда или как музыка влияет на потребителей

Ronald Milliman — a recognized marketing specialist — made a discovery back in 1982: it turns out that visitors stay longer at the racks in places where quiet music plays. For slow and measured compositions, consumers spent longer choosing a product, looked at it more closely and as a result spent more money. According to the research results, sales in such retail spaces were higher by 32%!

In bars the result was comparable — plus 30% to the cash desk.

The rhythm of the modern consumer

«Звучание» бренда или как музыка влияет на потребителей

Time goes by, the pace of life increases, and types of consumer behavior become more diverse: Grab&Go, fast food, self-service cash registers, post offices and express outlets ... Everything works to increase the speed and autonomy of the service. Of course, if the patterns of behavior (and temperament) change, the music should also be adjusted.

At the moment the retailer has good moderately dynamic tracks, no strong bass part, but with good and clear rhythm. The best results show such directions as rap, RnB, pop rock. Examples of artists who "brought" the most sales to companies: Childish Gambino, 21 Savage, Kanye West, Imagine Dragons.

Pop compositions and indies are best suited for food court zones and restaurants. Basically, these are the leaders of the charts. Examples of 2019: Ed Sheeran, Maroon 5, Bruno Mars.

How it works

«Звучание» бренда или как музыка влияет на потребителей

Back at the beginning of the last century, Eric Sati first singled out Musique d'ameublement — "the music of furniture", i.e. the accompaniment that creates this or that atmosphere in a room. Commercial application of the term really got in the thirties in America, where Muzak began to design commercial customer premises to stimulate, relax or create any other mood. Over time, Muzak has become a name-name: it means unobtrusive background music or any other audio track.

At the dawn of the company, it turned out that too unusual or bright tracks often "knock" the audience out of the right psychological state. So it became clear that preference should be given to those compositions that are not particularly distinguished, but create the right pace for the target action of the client.

«Звучание» бренда или как музыка влияет на потребителей

We mentioned that the wide spread of audio marketing began in the 30s and 40s of the last century, and this is not a reason. In wartime, music helped relieve stress, relax, increase productivity. In fact, it solved some therapeutic problems. A good example of this influence is D. Campbell's work "The Mozart Effect". It contains interesting facts about the training of astronauts and the military in the United States. It turns out that musical accompaniment can significantly correct behaviour and emotional state.

If we can influence the audience with sound, why not apply it in marketing?

It is in this historical context that specialists have introduced music to retail for the first time.

Numbers don't lie

«Звучание» бренда или как музыка влияет на потребителей

М. In "Brand Sense", Lindstrom researched in detail how feelings influence sales. For example, the right musical impulse can help the client better remember the brand, create the right association ("peace of mind, quality, reliability" for example) and form a feeling around the company. Under the influence of sensory triggers, the information about the brand will remain in long-term memory and will provoke the consumer to perform a targeted action.

It was the audio impact that showed the highest growth in sales. Thus, sound has increased sales volume by 65%, smell — by 40%, visual design — by 46%, and so on. 

A recent APRA AMCOS survey showed that 90% of respondents want to hear music in retail establishments, 81% believe that music creates a good mood and the right atmosphere, and about 60% of respondents often stay in the institution longer if the sound design is sympathetic to them.

Choice of music

«Звучание» бренда или как музыка влияет на потребителей

Not everybody and not always needs calm music. The choice of a tracklist depends on your marketing tasks. For example, in retail chains like IKEA, the consumer should be motivated to stay longer, walk around the zones and look at goods. That's why the music line is more calm, and the zones themselves are equipped in such a way that you can sit there, walk, enjoy the ready-made interiors (and "try them on yourself"), even have a snack!

«Звучание» бренда или как музыка влияет на потребителей

But fast food is about speed, flow and not taking up space for too long. That's why in these places the music is a little louder, it's more dynamic. And the rest of the atmosphere is not conducive to you being there for a long time: lighting is usually colder, the furniture is not very comfortable for a long stay, and so on.

«Звучание» бренда или как музыка влияет на потребителей

Many bars prefer to play energetic and loud enough music to make the audience order more drinks, talk less, feel more satisfied with the evening ... And leave. That's what the Hard Rock Cafe does, for example. So if you increase the volume of the accompaniment by 22%, the speed of alcohol consumption will increase by 26%.

So first of all, think about how you want the consumer to behave: how he should move, what to do, what to experience. Already project the information you receive into three main aspects of sound: tempo, loudness and genre affiliation.

«Звучание» бренда или как музыка влияет на потребителей

Sometimes it's appropriate to do without music. Well, it's not in Marks & Spencer. It turned out that the target audience of this network prefers either thoughtful shopping in silence or music in headphones. The more noise, the harder it is to concentrate.

The conclusion is quite simple: take into account the target audience (its age, gender, social status, interests and comfortable patterns of behavior), time of day, type of goods and services, room design and, of course, the tasks that you want to solve.

«Звучание» бренда или как музыка влияет на потребителей

«Звучание» бренда или как музыка влияет на потребителей

2-03-2020

Музыка — это сильный элемент психологического воздействия на потребителя, и наравне с визуальными триггерами, она активно используется в торговле и бизнесе. В этом материале мы попробуем коротко рассказать о том, почему звуковое оформление общественных мест важно и как сделать так, чтобы компания «зазвучала» привлекательно. 

«Материя или звук?» — что важно покупателю

«Звучание» бренда или как музыка влияет на потребителей

В эпоху сверхпотребления предложение оказывается гораздо выше спроса, и просто «материя» (предметы, вещи) не способны привлечь аудиторию в достаточной степени. Чем больше торговых площадей становится, тем чаще маркетологи задаются вопросом: почему человек обходит стороной какие-то места, а где-то задерживается действительно надолго? Какие факторы сильно влияют на решение вернуться в магазин, купить или хотя бы просто покрутить товар в руках? Кроме цены, местоположения, качества обслуживания, выкладки и десятка других нюансов… На клиентов действительно влияют цвета, звуки, запахи и другие (не совсем осязаемые) величины. 

Как динамика влияет на продажи

«Звучание» бренда или как музыка влияет на потребителей

Рональд Миллиман — признанный специалист по маркетингу — еще в 1982 году сделал открытие: оказывается, посетители задерживаются дольше у стоек в заведениях, где играет спокойная музыка. Под медленные и размеренные композиции, потребители дольше выбирали продукт, внимательнее рассматривали его и в результате тратили больше денег. По результатам исследования, продажи в таких торговых пространствах были выше на 32%!

В барах результат оказался сопоставимым — плюс 30% к кассе. 

Ритм современного потребителя

«Звучание» бренда или как музыка влияет на потребителей

Время идет, темп жизни увеличивается, а типы потребительского поведения становятся разнообразнее: Grab&Go, фастфуд, кассы самообслуживания, почтоматы и экспресс-отделения… Все работает на увеличение скорости и самостоятельности сервиса. Конечно же, если меняются паттерны поведения (и темперамент), то и музыкальное сопровождение тоже следует подстраивать. 

Сейчас в ритейле хорошо работают в меру динамичные треки, без сильной басовой партии, но с хорошим и четким ритмом. Наилучшие результаты показывают такие направления, как рэп, RnB, поп-рок. Примеры исполнителей, которые «принесли» компаниям больше всего продаж: Childish Gambino, 21 Savage, Kanye West, Imagine Dragons. 

Для зон фудкорта и ресторанов лучше всего подходят поп-композиции и инди. В основном, это лидеры чартов. Примеры 2019 года: Ed Sheeran, Maroon 5, Bruno Mars.

Как это работает

«Звучание» бренда или как музыка влияет на потребителей

Еще в начале прошлого века Эрик Сати впервые выделил Musique d’ameublement — «музыку мебели», т.е. сопровождение, которое создает в помещении ту или иную атмосферу. Коммерческое применение этот термин по-настоящему получил в тридцатые годы в Америке, где Muzak начали оформлять коммерческие помещения клиентов для стимуляции, расслабления или создания любого другого настроения. Со временем Muzak стало именем нарицательным: оно означает ненавязчивую фоновую музыку или любые другие аудиодорожки.

На заре работы компании, оказалось, что слишком необычные или яркие треки частенько «выбивают» аудиторию из нужного психологического состояния. Так стало понятно, что предпочтение следует отдавать тем композициям, которые ничем особо не выделяются, но создают нужный темпоритм для целевого действия клиента.

«Звучание» бренда или как музыка влияет на потребителей

Мы упомянули, что широкое распространение аудиомаркетинга началось в 30–40-е годы прошлого века, и это неспроста. В военное время музыка помогала снять стресс, расслабить, увеличить продуктивность. Фактически, она решала некоторые терапевтические задачи. Хороший пример такого влияния — работа Д. Кэмпбелла «Эффект Моцарта». Там приводятся интересные факты о подготовке астронавтов и военных в США. Оказывается, музыкальное сопровождение может существенно корректировать поведение и эмоциональное состояние. 

Если мы можем воздействовать на аудиторию с помощью звука, то почему бы не применить это в маркетинге? 

Именно в таком историческом контексте специалисты впервые внедрили музыку в ритейл. 

Цифры не врут

«Звучание» бренда или как музыка влияет на потребителей

М. Линдстром в «Чувстве бренда» подробно исследовал то, как ощущения влияют на продажи. Так, правильный музыкальный импульс может помочь клиенту лучше запомнить бренд, создать нужную ассоциацию («спокойствие–качество–надежность», например) и сформировать чувство вокруг компании. Под воздействием сенсорных триггеров, информация о бренде останется в долгосрочной памяти и спровоцирует потребителя на совершение того или иного целевого действия. 

Именно аудио воздействие показало наиболее высокий прирост по продажам. Так звук увеличил объем продаж на 65%, запах — на 40%, визуальное оформление — на 46%, и так далее.  

Недавнее исследование APRA AMCOS показало, что 90% респондентов хотят слышать музыку в торговых заведениях, 81% считает, что музыка создает хорошее настроение и правильную атмосферу, а около 60% опрошенных зачастую остаются в заведении дольше, если звуковое оформление вызывает у них симпатию. 

Выбор музыки

«Звучание» бренда или как музыка влияет на потребителей

Не всем и не всегда нужна спокойная музыка. Выбор треклиста зависит от поставленных маркетинговых задач. Например, в торговых сетях вроде IKEA потребителя надо мотивировать оставаться подольше, гулять по зонам, рассматривать товары. Поэтому и музыкальный ряд выбран более спокойный, и сами зоны оборудованы таким образом, чтобы там можно было посидеть, пройтись, насладиться готовыми интерьерами (и «примерить их на себя»), даже перекусить! 

«Звучание» бренда или как музыка влияет на потребителей

А вот фастфуду важна скорость, поток и чтобы места не занимали очень долго. Поэтому в таких заведениях музыка играет чуть громче, она более динамичная. Да и остальная обстановка не способствует тому, чтобы вы находились там долго: освещение обычно более холодное, мебель не сильно удобная для продолжительного пребывания и так далее. 

«Звучание» бренда или как музыка влияет на потребителей

Многие бары предпочитают включать энергичную и достаточно громкую музыку для того, чтобы аудитория больше заказывала выпивки, меньше разговаривала, быстрее испытывала удовлетворение от вечера...И уходила. Так поступает Hard Rock Cafe, например. Так если увеличить громкость сопровождения на 22%, скорость потребления спиртного вырастет на 26%.

Поэтому в первую очередь подумайте о том, как вы хотите, чтобы потребитель себя вел: как он должен двигаться, что делать, что испытывать. Полученную информацию уже проецируйте на три основных аспекта звукового сопровождения: темп, громкость и жанровая принадлежность. 

«Звучание» бренда или как музыка влияет на потребителей

Иногда уместно обойтись и без музыки. Так, в Marks & Spencer ее нет. Оказалось, что целевая аудитория этой сети предпочитает либо вдумчивый шопинг в тишине, либо музыку в наушниках. Чем больше шума, тем сложнее сконцентрироваться. 

Вывод достаточно простой: учитывайте целевую аудиторию (ее возраст, пол, социальный статус, интересы и комфортные паттерны поведения), время суток, тип товаров и услуг, дизайн помещения и, естественно, те задачи, которые вы хотите решить.